

CALEFAX COMPOSERS' COMPETITION 2015: EASY PIECES

Calefax invites composers of all ages and nationalities to participate in the 8th annual Composers' Competition for Reed Quintet. The central theme of this year's competition is 'Easy Pieces'. Calefax promotes the genre of the Reed Quintet in many ways, and also aims to broaden the repertoire available for young players and amateurs. Who can write a (relatively) easy piece with the greatest artistic quality? The winning composition will be premiered in the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ in Amsterdam on 28 December 2015.

Prize

The winning composition will receive its premiere as part of the PAN Festival 2015 at the Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ, the most important stage for contemporary music in the Netherlands. The piece will be performed by the world-renowned Calefax Reed Quintet. The winning composer will also be awarded a prize of €2000.

Rules

- Entries for the Calefax Composers' Competition 2015 must be received by 1
 December 2015
- Composers of any nationality and any age may submit works
- Submitted compositions should have a maximum length of eight minutes
- Only one work per composer may be submitted. Only new works, and no arrangements, will be accepted
- Compositions must be performable by five players using the following instruments:
 - 1. Oboe or cor anglais or oboe d'amore
 - 2. Clarinet in B-flat or A
 - 3. Alto or soprano saxophone
 - 4. Bass clarinet, basset horn or double bass clarinet
 - 5. Bassoon

Jury

The jury of the Calefax Composers' Competition will be made up of all five members of Calefax. The director of the Royal Conservatoire in The Hague, Henk van der Meulen, will act as a chairman of the jury. Scores will be judged anonymously. Every participant will be notified of the competition results. The decision of the jury is final.

Submissions

Send your composition in PDF format both as a score (in C) and as transposed parts to productie@calefax.nl. Only digital scores may be submitted. Please note that digital scores and parts should not include the composer's name, as the scores are to be judged anonymously by the jury.

Deadline

The deadline for submissions is 1 December 2015.

Previous winners

Previous winners of the Calefax Composers' Competition were Michael Walsh (2014, UK), Corey Dundee (2013, US), Didier Marc Garin (2012, France), José Mora-Jiménez (2011, Costa Rica/Netherlands), Jeffrey Harrington (2010, US/France), Heleen Verleur (2009, Netherlands) and Holger de Bruin (2008, Netherlands).

Amsterdam, September 2015 www.calefax.com